14th Annual Delta Awards for tourism achievement presented Friday

JONESBORO - The 14th annual Delta Awards recognizing tourism achievement in eastern Arkansas will be presented during festivities Friday evening, at Southland Park Gaming and Racing in West Memphis.

The evening will begin with a 5:30 p.m. silent auction, followed by the dinner and awards at 7 p.m.{}{} The event is sponsored by Arkansas Delta Byways, with support from the West Memphis Chamber of Commerce, the West Memphis Advertising and Promotion Commission and Main Street West Memphis.

Arkansas Delta Byways, located on the Arkansas State University campus, is a nonprofit organization recognized by the Arkansas Department of Parks and Tourism as the official tourism promotion association for 15 counties in Eastern Arkansas.{} Counties include Arkansas, Chicot, Clay, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Desha, Drew, Greene, Lee, Mississippi, Monroe, Phillips, Poinsett and St. Francis.

The annual awards event is open to the public.{} Tickets are $25 per person or a table of eight for $175.{} For information on ticket availability, contact Arkansas Delta Byways at 870-972-2803; Fax: 870-972-3201; or e-mail