Ark. counties issue burn bans due to fire danger

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - Burn bans are in place in three north-central Arkansas counties and the National Weather Service has issued Red Flag fire warnings for three other counties in west-central Arkansas.

The Arkansas Forestry Commission reports burn bans in Van Buren, Stone and Independence counties while the weather service's Red Flag warnings are in effect in Crawford, Sebastian and Franklin counties.

The weather service says dangerous fire weather conditions are ongoing and include strong wind gusts of 30 to 40 miles per hour on Saturday and 20 to 35 miles per hour on Sunday in addition to low humidity readings of 14 to 20 percent.

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.