4 Ark. schools receive national honors

LITTLE ROCK (AP) - Arkansas educators say four elementary schools across the state have been selected as 2013 National Blue Ribbon Schools.

The schools are the Central Park-Morning Star Elementary School in Bentonville, Bergman Elementary in Bergman, the Ellen Smith Elementary School in Conway and Immaculate Conception School in Fort Smith. The four were recognized Tuesday by U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan for being "exemplary high performing" schools. They won the designation because of test scores in language arts and math that rank in the top 15% of the state.

The National Blue Ribbon Schools program began in 1982 as a way to bring public attention to the best schools in the United States.

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off