4 finalists named in Ark. teacher contest

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - The four finalists have been named in the Arkansas Teacher of the Year competition.

Gov. Mike Beebe on Monday revealed the names of the finalists in an event at the Capitol. The honor cites teachers for their exemplary work in the classroom.

The finalists are: Jonathan Crossley, an 11th and 12th-grade English teacher at Palestine Wheatley High School; Lisa Gray, a kindergarten through second-grade literacy teacher at Sunnymede Elementary School in the Fort Smith School District.

Sue Johnston, a first-grade teacher at Eagle Mountain Magnet School in the Batesville School District; and Debra Lamb, a 10th through 12th-grade environmental and special technology teacher at Har-Ber High School in the Springdale School District.

They each receive a $1,000 check from the Walton Family Foundation, in addition to other honors.

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.