6 Arkansas communities receive federal grants

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - The Arkansas Economic Development Commission says it's awarded more than $888,000 in community development block grants to six Arkansas communities.

Woodruff County received more than $116,000 for renovation of a building for a food bank, while Trumann received $82,500 for an adult education center. Haynes received more than $156,000 for a youth entrepreneurship center and Peach Orchard will get nearly $135,000 for a tornado shelter and siren.

Stuttgart will receive $220,000 to replace the roof on a community center, while De Queen will receive more than $178,000 for a wastewater line at an assisted living center.

To qualify for funding, a community must show that more than half of the population benefiting from the grant is of low to moderate income.

Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.