7 Ark. schools receive grants for health centers

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - The state has awarded $1 million in grants to seven Arkansas schools for the creation of school-based health centers in their districts beginning next school year.

Each district will receive $150,000 during the first year of the 5-year grant, and the award amounts will decrease each year thereafter.

The grants will allow the schools to offer clinical services through a health provider, such as a hospital or community health center. The grant also calls for schools to establish a mental health program and promote overall school health through educational outreach.

The schools receiving the grants are: Cedarville Elementary School, Washington Middle School in El Dorado, Franklin Elementary School in Little Rock, Siloam Springs Intermediate School, Gene George Elementary School in Springdale, Waldron Middle School and Yellville-Summit Elementary School.

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.