Ark. Livestock & Poultry Commission names chairman

LITTLE ROCK (AP) - The Arkansas Livestock & Poultry Commission has elected a Batesville farmer as the new chairman of the commission.

The commission announced Friday that Charles "Ed" Mabry of Batesville will serve as chairman for the 2012-2013 year.

Mabry was appointed to a seven-year term on the commission in 2009 by Gov. Mike Beebe.

He is retired from John Deer and currently farms 420 acres in Independence County.