Arkansas House picks new speaker

{}LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - Arkansas House members have elected Republican Jeremy Gillam of Judsonia as the legislative chamber's next leader.

{}Gillam won the House Speaker's office with 57 votes in a secret ballot Wednesday. He needed 51 votes. The number of votes against him was not immediately known. Gillam defeated three other House members, Republicans Kim Hammer and Matthew Shepherd and Democrat Fred Love.

{}The vote came after several lawmakers said they feared a repeat of the 2012 race. Democratic state Rep. Darrin Williams won the office in March only to lose it that November after Republicans won the chamber's majority.

{}Republicans have a 51-48 edge in the House, with one Green Party member.

{}Current Speaker Davy Carter of Cabot is term-limited in the chamber.

(Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)