Arkansas runs away with 20th indoor track title

AP Sports Writer

FAYETTEVILLE (AP) - Kevin Lazas won the heptathlon and Kemoy Campbell finished second in the 3,000-meter run as Arkansas won its record 20th title at the NCAA Indoor Track and Field Championships.

The title is the first for the Razorbacks since 2006, their 41st track championship overall, and it's the first under coach Chris Bucknam.

Campbell clinched the title with his strong finish on the final lap of the 3,000. His eight team points gave Arkansas 64 overall, enough to clinch the championship with one event remaining.

The Razorbacks finished with 74 points, 15 ahead of 3-time defending champion Florida.

Oregon won the women's championship with 56 points, the school's fourth in a row. It clinched the title in the final event, the 4x400 relay, and finished 12 points ahead of second-place Kansas.

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.