Burn bans remain in place in 70 Arkansas counties

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - Burn bans remain in place in 70 of Arkansas' 75 counties and a day before the Independence Day holiday officials are stressing the danger posed by fireworks.

On Tuesday, Pulaski County officials sent out reports showing two people who were cited for violating the county's burn ban.

The only Arkansas counties not under burn bans are Calhoun, Desha, Drew, Little River and Sevier.

Some cities have called off fireworks but other organized displays are going forward. The Arkansas Travelers are putting on a fireworks display Tuesday night at Dickey-Stephens Park in North Little Rock. On Wednesday night, the Northwest Arkansas Naturals have their own display set for Wednesday night.

Little Rock's customary fireworks show is also going forward Wednesday night.

Click here to see a large, updated version of the burn ban map.

Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.