Delegation announces grants to fire departments

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - U.S. Sens. Mark Pryor and John Boozman and Reps. Tim Griffin and Steve Womack have announced $700,000 in federal grants to five fire departments in Arkansas.

The grants from the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Assistance to Firefighters Grant Program announced Thursday are to be used to purchase equipment, training materials and vehicles.

The grants are $12,357 to the Hensley Volunteer Fire Department; $100,482 to the Valley View Fire Protection District in Jonesboro; $132,052 to the Butterfield District 5 Volunteer Fire Department at Van Buren; $223,250 to the Burnt Ridge Volunteer Fire Department at Shirley; and $229,197 to the Crawford County Fire District One at Rudy.

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.