Fayetteville defeats Bentonville for 7A title

LITTLE ROCK (AP) - Fayetteville spoiled a perfect season for Bentonville the second straight year and claimed the Class 7A state championship with a 31-20 victory.

The Bulldogs (10-3) intercepted quarterback Reece Dollins twice Saturday night and turned the plays into touchdowns.

Jordan Dennis took one 42 yards for a score midway through the third quarter, and Cole Harris' 34-yard return with 1:56 left sealed it.

Just as in 2011, Bentonville (12-1) defeated Fayetteville in the regular season, but the Bulldogs won when it mattered most. In what amounted to a rubber game - the Tigers topped the Bulldogs for the 2010 state title - Fayetteville prevailed, as the championship remained in the 7A-West for the eighth straight year.

Austin Allen passed for 198 yards and ran for 53 and a score. Brice Gahagans added 85 tough rushing yards.

Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.