Game notes for Hog opener


The Razorbacks begin their 120th season of football by opening the 2013 season inside Donald W. Reynolds Razorback Stadium in Fayetteville against Louisiana. The season opener also is head coach Bret Bielema's first game at Arkansas after seven seasons as head coach at Wisconsin. The 2013 season marks the 75th anniversary of Donald W. Reynolds Razorback Stadium, which opened in 1938 with a 27-7 win over Oklahoma A&M. Arkansas has an all-time record of 166-81-2 (.667) inside Donald W. Reynolds Razorback Stadium. As part of the 75th anniversary celebration, fans had the opportunity to vote for their top moments in stadium history. Throughout the 2013 season, the top-five moments, based on fan votes, will be featured in a countdown on the second-largest on-campus video display in the country during all Fayetteville games in 2013 and on Head coach Bret Bielema is 44-5 (.898) all-time in home games as a head coach. Head coach Bret Bielema, in his first season at Arkansas, is 7-0 all-time in season-opening games as a head coach, including a 5-0 record when opening the season at home. Head coach Bret Bielema's teams have averaged 37.3 points per game while allowing just 18.7 points per game in season openers. Head coach Bret Bielema's teams have averaged 441.4 yards of total offense per game in season openers, including 233.1 rushing yards and 208.3 passing yards per game. Arkansas has won six straight season-opening contests and 14 of its last 15. UA is 93-22-4 (.798) all-time in season openers. THE TEAMLast week, head coach Bret Bielema announced four captains elected by their teammates for the 2013 season. The Razorback team captains are senior fullback Kiero Small, senior center Travis Swanson, senior defensive end Chris Smith and senior defensive tackle Robert Thomas. Swanson also was elected a team captain in 2012 and is the 11th Razorback in program history to serve consecutive seasons as captain. Arkansas is the only team in the SEC, and one of just three in the country, to enter the 2013 season replacing its 2012 leader in passing, rushing, receiving and tackles. Arkansas' leaders in each of the following categories from the 2012 season returns for 2013: scoring, tackles for loss, sacks, quarterback hurries, fumble recoveries, forced fumbles, blocked kicks, field goals, PATs, kickoffs and punt returns. The Razorbacks return four starters on offense and eight on defense, while also bringing back their kicker from 2012. The Razorbacks return 24 players, 12 on offense and 12 on defense, who started at least one game in 2012, including 12 who made at least six starts last season. Head coach Bret Bielema has made building the Arkansas walk-on program a priority since arriving in Fayetteville last December. Prior to the 2013 season, Coach Bielema awarded scholarships to six former walk-ons as deep snapper Alan D'Appollonio and tight end Mitchell Loewen earned scholarships following spring practice and fullback Patrick Arinze, linebackers Price Holmes and Austin Jones and tight end Alex Voelzke were placed on scholarship during preseason camp.
close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off