Governor announces plans to pardon 7

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - Gov. Mike Beebe has announced that he plans to grant pardons to seven people convicted in burglary, breaking and entering and drug-related cases.

Beebe's office said Wednesday that each of the seven people has completed all required jail time, fulfilled all parole-and-probationary requirements and paid all fines related to the sentences.

The seven people are Venton L. Leakey of Dyer; Steven W. McDonald of Fort Smith; Michelle O'Barr of Springdale; Romillious D. Scroggins of Wake Village, Texas; Rodney W. Silvers of Richwood, Texas; Joshua K. Smith of Poteau, Okla.; and Stephen W. Tencleve of Scranton. The crimes range from possession of methamphetamine, breaking and entering and theft.

There is a 30-day waiting period for public comment before the pardons can take effect.