Grants awarded to 21 Arkansas schools, districts

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - The Arkansas Department of Education says 21 schools and districts have received grants to establish before- and after-school programs.

Each of the awardees will receive a total of $660,000 in 21st Century Community Learning Grants. The state says the grants will pay for tutoring, homework assistance and other activities.

Districts that will benefit from the grants are: West Memphis, Bald Knob, Booneville, Clinton, Little Rock, Dardanelle, Dermott, Drew Center, Helena-West Helena, Hermitage, Springdale, Jessieville, Marvell, Monticello, Pulaski County Special, Prescott and Cabot.

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.