Senators propose tax relief after Ark. oil spill

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - US Senators Mark Pryor and John Boozman have introduced legislation to exempt from federal taxes all Arkansans who receive compensation from ExxonMobil for the Mayflower pipeline oil spill.

The legislation introduced Wednesday is similar to a bill introduced last week by Republican Rep. Tim Griffin and that is supported by the Arkansas congressional delegation.

The Mayflower Oil Spill Tax Relief Act of 2013 by Pryor - a Democrat - and Boozman - a Republican - would classify compensation to Mayflower families as a "qualified disaster relief payment."

ExxonMobil's Pegasus pipeline ruptured on March 29 and spilled thousands of barrels of oil in Mayflower. The spill damaged properties and led authorities to evacuate more than 20 homes.

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.