Some Ark. congressmen to vote to reopen gov't

LITTLE ROCK (AP) - Members of Arkansas' congressional delegation have supported legislation to reopen the federal government and avoid a threatened national default.

The House voted 285-144 in support of the bill Wednesday night. Republican U.S. Reps. Rick Crawford, Tim Griffin and Steve Womack had said they would vote for the measure.

After the House vote, Rep. Tom Cotton, R-Ark., said he reluctantly supported it.

It passed the U.S. Senate 81-18 on Wednesday night with the support of Democratic U.S. Sen. Mark Pryor and Republican U.S. Sen. John Boozman, according to the Senate's website.

The shutdown began Oct. 1.

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off