Three Hogs Earn All-SEC Honors

A trio of Arkansas baseball players earned All-Southeastern Conference honors as voted on by the league's head coaches and announced on Tuesday. Eric Fisher headlined the group with second team All-SEC honors and an appearance on the All-Defensive Team at first base, while Andrew Benintendi was named to the All-Freshman squad and Jake Wise earned All-Defensive honors at catcher. Fisher earned second-team honors at first base after hitting .265 with 14 doubles, nine home runs and 43 runs batted in. His nine home runs lead the Razorbacks and rank third in the SEC, while his 14 doubles are tied with Brian Anderson and Joe Serrano for tops on the club. He has recorded 14 multi-hit games and hit six of his nine home runs against SEC opponents, including a solo shot against Texas A&M in the opening game of the SEC Tournament last week. His All-Defensive Team honors come after he picked countless throws to first base and sports a .995 fielding percentage with just three errors. Benintendi had a breakout freshman campaign to earn SEC All-Freshman honors in the outfield, hitting .282 with eight doubles, one triple and one home run. His 44 runs scored lead the Razorbacks, while is 15 stolen bases are also tops on the team. He has played in 57 games for Arkansas as a true freshman and recorded a .380 on base percentage. Wise picks up All-Defensive honors behind the plate after throwing out 20 base stealers on the year and picking off six more, both statistics that lead the SEC. He helped guide the Arkansas pitching staff to the third best ERA in the SEC and had a .995 fielding percentage as a catcher. The No. 20 Arkansas baseball team was selected as the No. 2 seed in the NCAA Charlottesville Regional and will begin play against No. 3 Liberty Friday at 6 p.m. on ESPNU. Regional host and No. 1 seed Virginia will host No. 4 Bucknell in the opening game of the day at 1 p.m. The Razorbacks are making their 13th straight NCAA Tournament appearance and 27th overall. Arkansas has advanced to five NCAA Super Regionals and made seven College World Series appearances. Below is a complete list of the 2014 SEC postseason awards. Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players. SEC PLAYER OF THE YEAR - A.J. Reed, Kentucky SEC PITCHER OF THE YEAR - Aaron Nola, LSU SEC FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR - Logan Shore, Florida SEC SCHOLAR-ATHLETE OF THE YEAR - Seth Heck, Mississippi State SEC?COACH?OF?THE?YEAR - Kevin O'Sullivan, Florida FIRST TEAM 1B - Sikes Orvis, Ole Miss 2B - Dansby Swanson, Vanderbilt 3B - Austin Anderson, Ole Miss SS - Vince Conde, Vanderbilt C - Taylor Gushue, Florida OF - Auston Bousfield, Ole Miss OF?- Ka'ai Tom, Kentucky OF - Christin Stewart, Tennessee DH/UTL - A.J. Reed, Kentucky P - Aaron Nola, LSU P - Logan Shore, Florida RP - Jacob Lindgren, Mississippi State SECOND TEAM 1B - Eric Fisher, Arkansas 2B - Brett Pirtle, Mississippi State 3B - Max Kuhn, Kentucky SS - Alex Bregman, LSU C - Will Allen, Ole Miss OF - Ben Moore, Alabama OF - Harrison Bader, Florida OF - Nick Banks, Texas A&M DH/UTL - Wade Wass, Alabama P - Ross Mitchell, Mississippi State P - Carson Fulmer, Vanderbilt RP - Joel Seddon, South Carolina ALL FRESHMAN TEAM 1B - Peter Alonso, Florida 2B - JaVon Shelby, Kentucky 3B - John Sternagel, Florida SS - Errol Robinson, Ole Miss C - Gavin Collins, Mississippi State OF - Nick Banks, Texas A&M OF?- Bryan Reynolds, Vanderbilt OF - Andrew Benintendi, Arkansas DH/UTL - Nick Senzel, Tennessee P - Logan Shore, Florida P - Keegan Thompson, Auburn RP - Thomas Burrows, Alabama ALL DEFENSIVE TEAM P - Aaron Nola, LSU; P - Carson Fulmer, Vanderbilt 1B - Eric Fisher, Arkansas 2B - Brett Pirtle, Mississippi State SS - Seth Heck, Mississippi State 3B - Joey Pankake, South Carolina C - Jake Wise, Arkansas; C - Grayson Greiner, South Carolina OF - Austin Cousino, Kentucky OF - Tanner English, South Carolina OF?- Andrew Stevenson, LSU