No action taken on new rules for enhanced concealed carry
LITTLE ROCK (KATV) —
A lot of talk, but no action at a legislative committee meeting on Tuesday, although they were expected to adopt the state police's new rules for enhanced concealed carry.
The committee choosing to table it to Friday when the full committee meets.
Several people spoke on this topic, including an Arkansas concealed carry instructor who said the enhanced license is pointless because the places you’re allowed to carry have been limited.
Bob Bailey, an instructor out of Russellville, said the requirement to make instructors train for enhanced is going to deter instructors from continuing to train Arkansans. As is, the law requires instructors to provide both basic and enhanced training; state police's new rules require they get the enhanced training within the first 6 months, or lose their instructor's license. Some lawmakers told KATV they’re already working on changing the law so it wouldn't require an instructor to teach both basic and enhanced, but give them the option of doing so.
Another new rule, those with a basic concealed will need to take an additional 8 hours for an enhanced license. The fee to state police is only $15, but what you pay for training will be up to your instructor.
If you're a newbie without any permits, it's 5 hours for basic then another 8 hours of training for enhanced. Although lawmakers are working with state police to allow training for both permits in just one class, but that's all talks still and not part of the state police's new rules.
"I've talked to a lot of instructors and I handed them what I was handed and I said hey you read this and tell me what you think, and we're not seeing the benefit to it," said Bailey. "It looks to me like it was passed by a bunch of legislators that never shoot, didn't really know what they were talking about, and you always have unintended consequences of any laws that you passed."
"Under Arkansas law as written right now, you can't carry on a public university, you can't carry at the state capitol you can't carry at other government owned buildings, there's a large restrictive space that we've opened up underneath this law...so somebody might not come to the capitol but they might have some opportunity to go to another public building," said Senator Trent Garner (R-27).
Lawmakers meet again this Friday, where they're expected to discuss and adopt the state police's new rules.