GOP's Milligan wins Arkansas treasurer race

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - Republican Dennis Milligan has been elected as Arkansas' new state treasurer.

Milligan now serves as Saline (suh-LEEN') County circuit clerk and is a former chairman of the Arkansas Republican Party. He defeated Democrat Karen Sealy Garcia and Libertarian Chris Hayes in Tuesday's contest.

Milligan succeeds Charles Robinson, who was appointed by Gov. Mike Beebe to fill the office left vacant by former treasurer Martha Shoffner's resignation. Shoffner, a Democrat, resigned after she was indicted on federal bribery charges. She awaits sentencing in federal court.

Milligan vowed to rebuild the public's trust in the office after the Shoffner case. He promises to enact a no-gifts policy for treasurer's office employees and put records online so the public can see where the state's investments are kept.

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off