Arkansas Rep. Bob Johnson elected Jacksonville mayor; Sipes, Elliott win council seats

Arkansas state representative and Jacksonville mayor-elect Bob Johnson (Photo: Bob Johnson for Mayor)

Arkansas Rep. Bob Johnson, D-Jacksonville, has won the runoff election for Jacksonville mayor.

Johnson, an accountant and former Pulaski County justice of the peace, soundly defeated military veteran and city planning commission member Patrick Thomas.

Johnson succeeds Mayor Gary Fletcher, who withdrew from the general election after more than nine years in office.

With all precincts reporting, unofficial results were:

Bob Johnson: 1,689 - 69 percent

Patrick Thomas: 756 - 31 percent

Two city council members were also elected Tuesday. Results of the runoff election for Ward 1, Position 1 were:

Kenny Elliott: 1,193 - 50.10 percent

Jeff Elmore: 1,188 49.90 percent

Results for Ward 2, Position 1 were:

Gary Sipes: 1,338 - 56 percent

Kevin McCleary: 1,032 - 44 percent

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off