Daniel Gafford, Javon Franklin, Christyn Williams are Full Court Award Players of the Year

Daniel Gafford and Christyn Williams celebrate together (KATV Photo)

El Dorado's Daniel Gafford, Parkview's Javon Franklin and Central Arkansas Christian's Christyn Williams were named the 2017 Full Court Award Players of the Year.

The awards, presented annually by KATV, are sponsored by McDonald's and Arkansas Specialty Orthopedics.

Franklin averaged 17 points and 9 rebounds a game for the 28-6 Parkview Patriots.

"It's really a big honor and those other guys are real good too so I think it's a big honor for me to get this award," Franklin said.

Gafford, who tied Franklin in the boys' voting, averaged 17 points and 16 rebounds.

"A lot of great players here and for me to get an award like that, it makes me feel real happy," Gafford said.

Williams, a rising Mustang senior with offers from nearly every top school in the country, averaged 26 points, 9 rebounds and 3 steals a game. She becomes only the second girl to win the award twice.

"Sophomore and junior year, it's a blessing to get this award two years in a row," Williams said. "It's just an honor."

The players were presented with their awards at a banquet in downtown Little Rock Wednesday night.

Previous winners of the prestigious award include Bobby Portis, Archie Goodwin and Kevaughn Allen.

Central's Kayla Woods and Marion's Shawn Doss received the Anthony Hobbs Spirit Award for exhibiting the same qualities as the late athlete.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off