Broyles Award announces 2018 nominees

broyles award.jpg

53 of the most talented assistant coaches in college football have been named nominees for the 2018 Broyles Award, the Frank & Barbara Broyles Foundation announced on Wednesday. The award honors the sport's top assistant coaches.

KATV is a proud partner of the Broyles Award. The ceremony will once again air live on Channel 7 in Little Rock.

The 53 nominees in this year’s class were selected from approximately 1,500 assistant coaches representing 130 Division One programs across the country. The Broyles Award selection process includes the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA), a college football hall-of-fame selection committee and current college head coaches.

An 19-member selection committee of distinguished former head coaches, along with a committee representing the FWAA will select 15 semi-finalists and five finalists from the list of nominees and an overall winner. Those finalists will be invited to travel to Little Rock, Ark. where the 2018 Broyles Award winner will be announced on Tuesday, December 4th at the Marriott Hotel.

The winner of the 2018 Broyles Award was Tony Elliott, co-offensive coordinator and running backs coach at Clemson. Winners from the past five seasons are not eligible to be nominated for the Broyles Award.

This year marks the third time the Frank & Barbara Broyles Foundation has presented the award. Proceeds from the 2018 Broyles Award support the mission of the Broyles Foundation; to provide education, support, and resources to Alzheimer's caregivers.

The nominees include:

  • Alabama - Michael Locksley, Offensive Coordinator
  • Alabama Birmingham - David Reeves, Defensive Coordinator
  • Appalachian State - Bryan Brown, Defensive Coordinator/Cornerbacks
  • Arizona State - Danny Gonzales, Defensive Coordinator
  • Arkansas State - Norval McKenzie, Special Teams Coordinator/Running Backs
  • Army - Jay Bateman, Defensive Coordinator
  • Auburn - Larry Porter, Special Teams Coordinator
  • Boise State - Zak Hill, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
  • Brigham Young - Ed Lamb, Special Teams Coordinator/Linebackers
  • Buffalo - Brian Borland, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties
  • California - Tim DeRuyter, Defensive Coordinator/Outside Linebackers
  • Central Florida - Glen Elarbee, Offensive Line
  • Cincinnati - Marcus Freeman, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
  • Clemson - Jeff Scott, Co-Offensive Coordinator/Wide Receivers
  • Coastal Carolina - Jamey Chadwell, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
  • Duke - Matt Guerrieri, Co-Defensive Coordinator
  • Eastern Michigan - Neal Neathery, Assistant Head Coach/Defensive Coordinator
  • Fresno State - Bert Watts, Defensive Coordinator
  • Georgia - Sam Pittman, Offensive Line
  • Georgia Southern - Scot Sloan, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties
  • Houston - Kendal Briles, Offensive Coordinator/Quaterbacks
  • Indiana - Mike Hart, Assistant Head Coach/Running Backs
  • Iowa - Phil Parker, Defensive Coordinator/Secondary
  • Iowa State - Tyson Veidt, Assistant Head Coach/Linebackers
  • Kentucky - Matt House, Defensive Coordinator/Inside Linebackers
  • Louisiana State - Dave Aranda, Defensive Coordinator
  • Memphis - Ryan Silverfield, Offensive Line/Run Game Coordinator
  • Miami - Manny Diaz, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
  • Michigan - Don Brown, Defensive Coordinator
  • Michigan State - Mike Tressel, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
  • Mississippi State - Bob Shoop, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties
  • Missouri - Brick Haley, Defensive Line
  • Nebraska - Mario Verduzco, Quarterbacks
  • North Carolina State - Eliah Drinkwitz, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
  • North Texas - Graham Harrell, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
  • Northwestern - Mike Hankwitz, Defensive Coordinator
  • Notre Dame - Chip Long, Offensive Coordinator
  • Ohio State - Ryan Day, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
  • Oklahoma - Bill Bedenbaugh, Co-Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line
  • Southern Methodist - Kevin Kane, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
  • South Carolina - Eric Wolford, Offensive Line
  • Syracuse - Justin Lustig, Special Teams Coordinator/Wide Receivers
  • Temple - Chris Wiesehan, Offensive Line/Run Game Coordinator
  • Texas Tech - Adam Scheier, Special Teams Coordinator
  • Toledo - Robby Discher, Special Teams Coordinator/Tight Ends
  • Troy - Bam Hardmon, Inside Linebackers
  • USC - Johnny Nansen, Assistant Head Coach/Recruiting Coordinator
  • Utah - Morgan Scalley, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties
  • Utah State - David Yost, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
  • Wake Forest - Kevin Higgins, Assistant Head Coach/Wide Receivers
  • Washington State - Tracy Claeys, Defensive Coordinator
  • West Virginia - Jake Spavital, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
  • Wisconsin - Joe Rudolph, Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line
close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off