Daniel Gafford named first team all-SEC

    Daniel Gafford defends a shot against Georgia (KATV photo).JPG

    The Southeastern Conference unveiled its men’s basketball coaches’ postseason awards Tuesday.

    Ole Miss’ Kermit Davis earned SECCoach of the Year honors and Tennessee’s Grant Williams was selected the SECPlayer of the Year by the league’s coaches. LSU’s Skylar Mays earned SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year; Kentucky’s Keldon Johnson was tabbed SEC Freshman of the Year; South Carolina’s Hassani Gravett was voted SEC Sixth Man of the Year; and LSU’s Tremont Waters and Kentucky’s Ashton Hagans were named the SEC Co-Defensive Players of the Year.

    First-team and second-team All-SEC honorees, All-Freshman team, All-Defensive team, along with Player, Coach and Freshman, Defensive, Sixth-Man and Scholar-Athlete of the Year were chosen by the league’s 14 coaches. Ties were not broken.

    A complete list of the 2019 SEC Men’s Basketball postseason awards follows:

    First Team All-SEC

    Daniel Gafford, Arkansas

    PJ Washington, Kentucky

    Tremont Waters, LSU

    Breein Tyree, Ole Miss

    Quinndary Weatherspoon, Mississippi St.

    Chris Silva, South Carolina

    Admiral Schofield, Tennessee

    Grant Williams, Tennessee

    Second Team All-SEC

    Bryce Brown, Auburn

    Jared Harper, Auburn

    Nicolas Claxton, Georgia

    Tyler Herro, Kentucky

    Keldon Johnson, Kentucky

    Skylar Mays, LSU

    Terence Davis, Ole Miss

    Jordan Bone, Tennessee

    All-Freshman Team

    Kira Lewis Jr., Alabama

    Isaiah Joe, Arkansas

    Andrew Nembhard, Florida

    Tyler Herro, Kentucky

    Keldon Johnson, Kentucky

    Naz Reid, LSU

    Reggie Perry, Mississippi State

    A.J. Lawson, South Carolina

    All-Defensive Team

    Donta Hall, Alabama

    Daniel Gafford, Arkansas

    Ashton Hagans, Kentucky

    Tremont Waters, LSU

    Chris Silva, South Carolina

    Coach of the Year: Kermit Davis, Ole Miss

    Player of the Year: Grant Williams, Tennessee

    Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Skylar Mays, LSU

    Freshman of the Year: Keldon Johnson, Kentucky

    Sixth-Man of the Year: Hassani Gravett, South Carolina

    Co-Defensive Players of the Year: Tremont Waters, LSU & Ashton Hagans, Kentucky

    News In Photos

      Loading ...